Rouen is on fire. Fresh young pop sensation Elisa Jo is only 20 and oozes spontaneity. She has just released a retro yet resolutely modern pop / blue-eyed soul album produced by Benjamin Biolay which could prove to be the soundtrack of the upcoming months. ‘Colours In My Mind’ is overflowing with catchy melodies which continue to haunt you long after the music fades.

The sunny energy and the almost live feel of the arrangements awaken long-dead Motown ghosts with their combination of brass, female backing vocals and discrete yet sublime strings. Elisa Jo could easily have been daunted by these impeccable references, which remind us of huge talents like Mark Ronson and Amy Winehouse.
But the lyrics written by Elisa in fluent English, which deal with adolescent themes like unrequited or everlasting love, are sung in an incredibly evocative and gravelly voice – “I must have damaged it yelling at my brother when I was younger” she jokes. Her vocal range is reminiscent of Alice Russel, and she has the petulance of a radiant yet unfussy showgirl a la Sallie Ford.

Strolling through the imaginary streets of an idealised England, transforming her own city into an annex of Shoreditch or Camden, this French Kate Nash opens with a rapidly and mischievously delivered folk-soul “Something You May Cure“, then turns soul sister on the stylishly funky “Oh Boy”, plays on our heart strings with the poignant break-up tale “Defeated”, and even flirts with hip-hop on “Back Around”, an exquisite piece of sixties nostalgia where the Rizzle kicks lay down their groove.

What is her secret to staying so natural and fresh? The seemingly nonchalant art, aided by her impressive musical talent (Elisa plays both piano and guitar) of setting aside any career plan simply to share her obvious love for music.
Having grown up listening to Al Green, Otis Redding and The Beatles, and having been blessed with a music-loving father who collected guitars and an anglophile mother, Elisheva – a Hebrew name meaning “Oath of God”-, re-christened herself in order to pay tribute to two of her musical influences: the famous ‘Elisa’ by Serge Gainsbourg and her grandma Jo, who made her want to play the piano. As a support act for for Alela Diane, Selah Sue or Ron Sexsmith, she showed she could set the stage alight. Now all she has to do is to control the fire she started.





Single available

Album available

News

BiographieBiography

 Rouen is burning. Du haut de ses 20 ansElisa Jo, armée d’une sidérante spontanéité, sort un album de rétro pop-rock-blue eyed soul résolument moderne qui pourrait bien être la bande-son de ces prochains mois.

Produit par Benjamin Biolay, l’objet se donne et résiste tout à la fois à l’auditeur. Ses mélodies catchy hantent longtemps l’oreille, ses textes adolescents écrits par Elisa dans un anglais qui coule de source racontent des histoires d’amour, et de chagrin d’amour, éternelles.

L’orchestration, elle, réveille, dans une belle énergie solaire et une ambiance presque live, les fantômes endormis de la Motown à coup de cuivres, des « ouh-ouh » des chœurs féminins et de cordes discrètement sublimes. Impeccables références à la Mark Ronson pour Amy Winehouse qui auraient pu noyer Elisa Jo sous une intimidante avalanche de talent.

Mais c’était sans compter la voix incroyablement vivante, au timbre légèrement éraillé, de la jeune fille, – « j’ai dû me l’abîmer en criant sur mon frère quand j’étais plus jeune », dit-elle -, son élasticité vocale à la Alice Russell et sa pétulance de showgirl épanouie et sans chichis digne d’une Sallie Ford.

Arpentant les rues imaginaires d’une Angleterre idéale, et transformant sa ville en une annexe de Shoreditch ou de Camden, cette Kate Nash frenchy emporte le morceau dès les premières mesures d’un« Something you may cure » folk-soul au débit précipité et canaille, joue les soul sister sur un funk classieux (« Oh boy »), fait naître l’émotion avec « Defeated », poignant récit d’une rupture, flirte avec le hip hop sur « Back around », single nostalgique des sixties sur lequel rappent Rizzle Kicks, jeunes Anglais de Brighton,

Les secrets d’un naturel aussi rafraîchissant ? L’art, tout en paresse assumée et vrais dons de musicienne (Elisa Jo joue de la guitare et du piano), de zapper les plans de carrière pour faire partager avant tout son plaisir de chanter.

Bercée toute son enfance par Al Green, Otis Redding et les Beatles – les choix avisés d’un père mélomane, collectionneur de guitares et d’une mère anglophile -, Elisheva, un prénom hébreu signifiant « Dieu est promesse », s’est accordé un second baptême, se plaçant sous la protection de deux ombres tutélaires : l’ « Elisa » de Gainsbourg et sa grand-mère Jo, pianiste, qui lui a donné l’envie de se mettre au clavier. En première partie de Yael Naïm, Cœur de Pirate, Alela Diane ou Ron Sexsmith, ou sous son seul nom avec ses musiciens, elle se révèle monstre de scène. Il lui reste maintenant à maîtriser l’incendie qu’elle vient d’allumer.

 

 

 

MusiqueMusic

Single disponible

Album disponible

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

VidéosVideos

ConcertsTour